Tags

,

In my pre-trip blog post, I described how the importance of this trip for me. And I had decided that I wanted to remember every little detail so that I could re-live this over and over for the rest of my life. I regret not doing this on previous trips and other life events. I have always wanted to journal and made feeble attempts at it over my life.

To be clear, I do this for me. Life is amazing, filled with so many little moments of serenity, joy, exaltation, melancholy, nostalgia, contemplation, and a host of other emotions and sensations. In the whirlwind of it all, it’s easy to forget each individual moment. So by taking notes every day and, now, blogging based on those notes, I hope to capture as much of my trip as I can, including all those little thoughts and observations.

If a descendant (blood or otherwise) reads this someday and gets to experience this trip through me, great! Maybe some day my son will want to know about my life beyond what he heard from me. This will be there for him.

Here are the travel log posts so far:

Pre-trip post

Part 1 – Travel and Day 1 in Budapest

Part 2 – Day 2 in Budapest

Part 3 – Days 3 & 4 in Budapest 

Part 4 – Travel to Bratislava

Part 5 – Getting out of the City

Interlude – The Blood Countess (content warning: descriptions of violence and personal issues)

Part 6 – Visiting the Blood Countess

Part 7 – Čachtice