Tags

, , ,

I absolutely have to write today. I do this every year during my winter break – I go on a blogging spree. And I really want to maintain the habit year round. I even created an Evernote notebook with blogging ideas. But sometimes I get caught up in wanting my posts to be flawless. Even though I don’t see this as academic writing, I know how the internet works and I know that the slightest flaw, the smallest omission, can raise a shit storm. So sometimes writing up a post seems like a monumental task.

I decided this morning that I was finally going to get to a post I’ve been wanting to write for a while. It involved debunking the arguments of an anti-PC crusader that is using their professional credibility to put down non-binary trans folk. So I started research into their writings and videos so that I could comment on what the person actually wrote and said, rather than what journalists say they wrote or said. 20 minutes into one video interview, I wanted to hurl. I will have to do this in small steps for my own sanity. There is only so much vitriol I can take in one day.

But I HAVE to do this. I have genuine arguments to counter theirs and the capacity to articulate them. My silence on this would contribute to the spread of misinformation and oppressive paternalism. It will be done.